Elizabeth Fries Health Education Award Past Recipients

2022 – Barbara A. Israel, DrPH, MPH – For pioneering work in developing community-based approaches to public health education research and interventions to address health inequities. View Announcement

2021 – Spero M. Manson, PhD – For outstanding contributions to American Indian/Alaska Native health by increasing resources, improving research and training, and elevating the quality of health services to tribal communities. View Announcement

2020 – Robert Kaplan, PhD – For his research that has fundamentally changed the conceptualization and measurement of health outcomes. View Announcement

2019 – Shiriki Kumanyik, PhD, MPH – For her pioneering research that is contributing to obesity prevention and treatment interventions targeting minority populations. View Announcement

2018 – James F. Sallis, PhD. – For building an interdisciplinary field of active living research, identifying solutions to the global problem of physical inactivity and translating research findings from the built environment into action. View Announcement

2017 – John Allegrante, PhD, LHD. – For his extraordinary and indelible contributions to the fields of behavioral sciences and health education as a researcher, academician, ambassador, mentor and public servant. View Announcement

2016 – Andrea Gielen, ScD, ScM,. – For her pioneering efforts to reduce childhood injury and domestic violence. View Announcement

2015 – David A. Sleet, PhD – For better evidence, more effective translation, and greater adoption of life-saving injury and death prevention initiatives. View Announcement

2014 – Victor Strecher, PhD, MPH – For pioneering work in tailored health communications and broad impact in health behavior change and neural communications. View Announcement

2013 – Thomas J. Coates, PhD – For exemplary research on volunteer testing and counseling for HIV that has improved health care, reduced risk behaviors, and saved lives in vulnerable populations worldwide.

2012 – Russell E. Glasgow, PhD. – For pioneering efforts in implementation science and practice, innovating practical research frameworks and interventions models for the field.

2011 – Michael P. O’Donnell, PhD, MPH, MBA – For improving the practice and science of health promotion, integrating health promotion into U.S. National policy, and accelerating international growth of health promotion concepts.

2010 – John Reese Seffrin, PhD – For extraordinary leadership, statesmanship, and vision in employing the best principles of health education to reduce cancer within the U.S. and the world.

2009 – Nancy Whitelaw, PhD – For leading an innovative, effective, nationwide movement to deliver evidence-based health enhancement programs through community-based, aging, and health organization networks.

2008 – Stanton A Glantz, PhD – For his seminal contribution to reducing tobacco-caused death and disease through a combination of scientific work, public policy analyses, and courageous advocacy and public education.

2007 – Karen Glanz, PhD, MPH – For developing creative and effective interventions to reduce risk behaviors, encourage early detection of cancer, and prevent other acute and chronic diseases.

2006 – Donald Morisky, ScD – For his pioneering research on HIV/AIDS prevention, hypertension control, and tuberculosis control among high risk and underserved populations at home and abroad.

2005 – James O. Prochaska, PhD – For development and evaluation of the Transtheoretical Model of behavior change.

2004 – Barbara K. Rimer, DrPh – For her enormous contributions in expanding the field of cancer prevention.

2003 – Pekka Puska, MD – For his leadership of the North Karelia Project, which led to substantial improvement in the health of Finns and is now being replicated in countries throughout the world.

2002 – Albert Bandura, PhD – For fathering the Self-Efficacy Theory, which supplies the theoretical base for much of today's evidence-based health education.

2001 – David S. Sobel, MD, MPH – For his commitment to developing and disseminating Health Education programs within the Kaiser Permanente system, and for his missionary zeal insisting that Health Education is an essential element in patient care.

2000 – Wafaa El-Sadr, MD, MPH – For developing and implementing highly effective programs to reach the hardest to reach AIDS and drug resistant TB patients and maintain them in treatment.

1999 – Edward J. Roccella, PhD – For his exemplary leadership of the National High Blood Pressure Education Program.

1998 – Lawrence W. Green, DrPh – For his enormous role in defining the contemporary field of Health Education as scholar, prolific author, teacher and mentor.

1997 – Noreen Clark, PhD – For her outstanding contributions to the field of Health Education as a practitioner, researcher and teacher, and for her continuing commitment of service to the profession.

1996 – Marshall Kreuter, PhD – For an exceptionally productive career in academia, government service, and private consulting, during which he has played an essential role in defining the contemporary practice of health education.

1995 – Barbara Barlow, MD – For her leadership of the Harlem Hospital Injury Prevention Program, a model of community organization, which has substantially reduced the injury rate for Harlem's children and adolescents.

1994 – Health Education Award was not conferred.

1993 – Lloyd J. Kolbe, PhD – For his efforts in establishing the Division of Adolescent and School Health at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, which links health and learning through expanded school health programming.

1992 – Kate Lorig, DrPH – For her innovative research and development of self-management programs in arthritis and other chronic diseases.

About the Awards | Fries Prize | Elizabeth Fries Award | Nominations | Selection Jury