Fries Awards - Selection Jury

Ron Z. Goetzel, PhD, (Chair), Senior Scientist and Director, Institute for Health & Productivity Studies, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health

Mohammed K Ali, MD, MSc, MBA,, Vice Chair (Research), Dept of Family and Preventive Medicine; Associate Professor of Global Health, Epidemiology, and Family and Preventive Medicine; Associate Director, Georgia Center for Diabetes Translation Research and Global Diabetes Research Center, Emory University

Ross C. Brownson, PhD, Bernard Becker Professor of Public Health, Washington University in St. Louis

Dana C. Dolinoy, PhD, MSc, NSF International Chair and Professor of Environmental Health Sciences, University of Michigan School of Public Health

J. Nadine Gracia, MD, MSCE, President and CEO, Trust for America’s Health

Lawrence W. Green, DrPH, Professor Emeritus, University of California, San Francisco

Valarie Blue Bird Jernigan, DrPH, MPH, Professor, Rural Health; Director, Center for Indigenous Health Research and Policy, Oklahoma State University Center for Health Sciences

Kate Lorig, DrPH, Professor of Medicine, Stanford University

Patricia Dolan Mullen, DrPH, Distinguished Teaching Professor, Department of Health Promotion & Behavioral Sciences, The University of Texas School of Public Health

Amelie G. Ramirez, DrPH, Institute for Health Promotion Research, Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics, The University of Texas Health Science Center

Eduardo Sanchez, MD, MPH, Chief Medical Officer for Prevention and Chief, Center for Health Metrics and Evaluation, American Heart Association

David A. Sleet, PhD, FAAHB, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (Ret.)

Charles Stokes, MEd, Retired President and CEO, CDC Foundation

Kenneth E. Warner, PhD, Avedis Donabedian Distinguished University Professor of Public Health Emeritus, Department of Health Management and Policy, University of Michigan School of Public Health



Fries Awards | Fries Prize | Elizabeth Fries Award | Nominations

About the Awards

The late Dr. James F. Fries, formerly professor emeritus of medicine at Stanford University, came up with the idea for the Fries Prize for Improving Health in a 1987 ascent of Nepal’s Makalu—one of the world’s highest peaks—when his party became trapped in a severe snowstorm and was ultimately unable to scale the mountain. Following that experience, Dr. Fries returned to sea level and set about establishing a foundation to support a Nobel-like prize for health that now annually awards a $100,000 prize to an individual judged by an expert panel to have done the greatest good for the greatest number in the field of health. In 1992 the Elizabeth Fries Health Education Award was established in honor of Elizabeth Fries, daughter of James and Sarah Fries. The $50,000 prize is awarded annually to an individual judged to have made substantial contributions to their area of health education. Sarah Fries remained active in the Fries Prize awards until her death in May 2017, and Jim Fries remained active in the awards until his death in November 2021.

The CDC Foundation is honored to partner with the James F. and Sarah T. Fries Foundation, which established and funds the award. As of 2016, the CDC Foundation manages and administers the Fries Foundation’s public health award programs, which include the James and Sarah Fries Prize for Improving Health and the Elizabeth Fries Health Education Award.

Dr. Judy Monroe conducts a Q&A session with 2023 Fries Prize winer Dr. Anne Schuchat during the opening ceremonies of the APHA meeting in November 2023