Our Board

Doug Nelson
Doug Nelson
Retired President and CEO
The Annie E. Casey Foundation

Baltimore, MD

David Aldridge
David Aldridge
Retired CFO and Executive Vice President
Superior Essex, Inc.

Atlanta, GA

Raymond Baxter
Raymond J. Baxter, PhD
President and CEO
Blue Shield of California Foundation

San Francisco, CA

Vanessa M. Benavides
Vanessa M. Benavides
Senior Vice President and Chief Compliance and Privacy Officer
Kaiser Foundation Hospitals and Health Plan

San Francisco, CA

Elaine Chambers
Elaine Chambers
Former Board Chair
Lucile Packard Foundation for Children’s Health

Palo Alto, CA

Gary Cohen
Gary Cohen
Executive Vice President, Global Health


BD Foundation

Franklin Lakes, NJ

CDC Foundation Board Chair 2010-2014

Leah Devlin Photo
Leah Devlin, DDS, MPH
Professor of the Practice of Health Policy and Management
The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill’s Gillings School of Global Public Health

Chapel Hill, NC

Shirley Franklin
Shirley Franklin
Former Mayor of Atlanta

Executive Chairman

Purpose Built Communities

Atlanta, GA

Matt James
Matt James
Senior Counselor

Special Projects Advisor

Freedman Consulting

Los Altos, CA

Ruth Katz
Ruth Katz, JD, MPH
Director, Health, Medicine and Society Program
The Aspen Institute

Washington, DC

Phil Kent Photo
Phil Kent
Former Chairman and CEO
Turner Broadcasting Systems, Inc. (TBS)

Cambridge, MA

Betty King
Betty King
Former U.S. Ambassador
United Nations in Geneva

New York, NY

James Marks
James Marks, MD, MPH
Former Executive Vice President
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
Dikembe Mutombo
Dikembe Mutombo
Chairman and President
Dikembe Mutombo Foundation

Atlanta, GA

David Ratcliffe
David Ratcliffe
Retired Chairman, President and CEO
Southern Company

Atlanta, GA

John G. Rice
John G. Rice
Vice Chairman

President and CEO
GE Technology Infrastructure
Hong Kong

Kristen Silverberg
Kristen Silverberg
Former Ambassador to the European Union

Executive Vice President for Policy

Business Roundtable

Washington, DC

Advisors to the Board

Philip S. Jacobs
Advancement Committee
Founding Partner
The Pendelton Consulting Group

CDC Foundation Board Chair 2005-2010

Peter A. Tartikoff
Finance Committee
Retired CFO
American Cancer Society
Marni T. Vliet
Advancement Committee
Marni Vliet Strategy
Robert Yellowlees
Advancement Committee
Retired Chairman
Global Payments, Inc. and NDC Health Corporation

Selection of Past Board Members

J. Veronica Biggins
Managing Partner
Diversified Search
Carlos Dominguez
President and COO
James W. Down
Former Vice Chairman
Mercer Management Consulting
Richard W. Edelman
President and CEO
William H. Foege, MD, MPH
Former CDC Director
Founding CDC Foundation Board Member
James Hagedorn
Chairman and CEO
The Scotts Company
T. Marshall Hahn Jr., PhD
Retired Chairman and CEO
Georgia-Pacific Corporation

CDC Foundation Board Chair 1994-1996


George E. Hardy, MD, MPH, EIS ‘66
Retired Executive Director
The Association of State and Territorial Health Officials
Michelle Hooper
Managing Partner and Founder
The Directors’ Council
Donald R. Hopkins, MD, MPH, EIS Hon '85
Vice President, Health Programs
The Carter Center
Bob Jeffrey
Chairman & CEO - Worldwide
Andrew R. Klepchick, Jr.
Homrich Berg
Julius R. Krevans, MD
Chancellor Emeritus
University of California at San Francisco Medical Center School of Medicine


Margaret E. Mahoney
Former President
MEM Associates, Inc.

CDC Foundation Board Chair 1996-1998


Bernard Marcus
Chairman, The Marcus Foundation
Co-founder and Director Emeritus, The Home Depot, Inc.

CDC Foundation Board Chair 1998-2001

Charles H. McTier
Retired Trustee and Past President
Robert W. Woodruff Foundation, Joseph B. Whitehead Foundation and Lettie Pate Evans Foundation
Kent C. "Oz" Nelson
Retired Chair and CEO
United Parcel Service, Inc.

CDC Foundation Board Chair 2001-2005

David Satcher, MD, PhD
Director, Satcher Health Leadership Institute
Center of Excellence on Health Disparities, Center of Excellence on Health Disparities, Poussaint-Satcher-Cosby Chair in Mental Health, Morehouse School of Medicine, 16th Surgeon General of the United States

Center of Excellence on Health Disparities,
Poussaint-Satcher-Cosby Chair in Mental Health,
Morehouse School of Medicine;
16th Surgeon General of the United States

Andrew J. Young
Andrew J. Young Foundation