Board of Directors 2017-2018

Fiscal Year 2018 Report to Contributors

Includes board members serving between July 1, 2017–June 30, 2018

Douglas W. Nelson
Retired President and CEO
The Annie E. Casey Foundation

David M. Ratcliffe
Retired Chairman, President and CEO
Southern Company

David S. Aldridge
Retired Chief Financial Officer
Superior Essex Inc.

Raymond J. Baxter, PhD
Former Senior Vice President
Community Benefit, Research and Health Policy
Kaiser Permanente

Gary M. Cohen
Executive Vice President, Global Health
BD Foundation

Leah McCall Devlin, DDS, MPH
Professor of the Practice of Health Policy and Management
The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Matt James
Senior Counselor
Special Projects Advisor
Freedman Consulting

Ruth J. Katz, JD, MPH
Director, Health, Medicine, and Society Program
The Aspen Institute

Phil Kent
Former Chairman and CEO
Turner Broadcasting Systems, Inc.

Betty E. King
Former U.S. Ambassador
United Nations in Geneva

James S. Marks, MD, MPH
Retired Executive Vice President
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, 

Dikembe Mutombo
Chairman and President
Dikembe Mutombo Foundation, Inc.

John G. Rice
Retired Vice Chairman

Board Chair Emeriti

Gary M. Cohen - Board Chair 2010-2014
Executive Vice President
President Global Health & Development
BD (Becton Dickinson)

Phil S. Jacobs - Board Chair 2005-2010
The Pendleton Consulting Group

Kent C. “Oz” Nelson - Board Chair 2001-2005
Retired Chair and CEO
United Parcel Service, Inc.

Bernard Marcus - Board Chair 1998-2001
The Marcus Foundation
Co-founder and Director Emeritus
The Home Depot, Inc.

Margaret E. Mahoney^ - Board Chair 1996-1998
Former President
MEM Associates, Inc.

T. Marshall Hahn Jr., PhD^ - Board Chair 1994-1996
Retired Chairman and CEO
Georgia-Pacific Corporation


^  Deceased